Meet your Education Committee Members!

As the First Session of the 111th General Assembly gets underway, we wanted to introduce you to the committee structure and procedure in both the House and the Senate. With legislation surrounding our education work coming soon to protect high academic standards, promote innovation in education, provide for fewer, better tests, or uphold accountability for everyone involved in the classroom, we know you’ll get to know the members of these committees well.

Each week, we’ll jump into your inbox with the bills, amendments, and legislation that is up for debate. From time to time, we might ask you to reach out to your elected officials, or the committee members themselves, and share your support of the priorities, people, and policies that lead to student success.

The House Education Committee is chaired by Representative Mark White. Learn more about the committee and its subcommittees here.

The Senate Education Committee is chaired by Senator Dolores Gresham, with Senator Brian Kelsey as 1st Vice Chair and Senator Raumesh Akbari as 2nd Vice Chair. Learn more about the committee here. We are certain you’ll hear more about these members and their work as the session continues. Are you signed up for an account in our advocacy center? It’s easy, free, and is a seamless way to keep raising your voice for Tennessee’s kids.